david foster wallace

I’ve just started reading the new David Foster Wallace interview book by David Lipsky “Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace.” And while I’ve never read Infinite Jest, I’ve read Brief Interviews with Hideous Men and a handful of his essays –  and always promised myself I’d read more.

Anyhow. Just wow to this book. I didn’t know all too much about him personally before starting to read this, but he seems like he was an incredibly compassionate man in addition to the obvious, a brilliant writer.

This quote below is applicable to playwriting and theater in general I think…

“Literary fiction and poetry are real marginalized right now. There’s a fallacy that some of my friends sometimes fall into, the ol’ “The audience is stupid. The audience only wants to go this deep. Poor us, we’re marginalized because of TV, the great hypnotic blah, blah.” You can sit around and have these pity parties for yourself. Of course this is bullshit. If an art form is marginalized it’s because it’s not speaking to people. One possible reason is that the people it’s speaking to have become too stupid to appreciate it. That seems a little easy to me.”
David Foster Wallace

Leave a Reply

