Sharon Jones, Generations Theater Project and why Laura Linney rules.

I’ve been trying to focus all day, but I am having trouble getting my mind to organize itself into linear thinking patterns. I’ve finally given up for the day, but I wanted to make sure I posted, so please bear with my series of unrelated thoughts.

This weekend was one of those weekends where you feel warm and fuzzy inside and makes you grateful for all the wonderful people in your life. My roommate and I had people over to celebrate my move in – and it was a really nice time. It was a great crowd of people, and there were several moments where I looked around and I thought, wow, I’m really lucky.  My new roommate/friend  is so lovely, kind and cool. And a couple of my dear friends I’ve known since I was a dorky kid in braces and unflattering round glasses were there, and it’s kind of amazing to see us all grown up and pursuing our passions.

Writing about this reminds me of the NY Times magazine piece on Laura Linney last weekend – and how she talked about how grateful she is to be alive – how growing older is a privilege we really don’t think about. We think about the wrinkles and the lowered energy levels but not the sheer awesomeness of getting older.

Another highlight of the weekend was seeing Sharon Jones in Prospect Park. I love that she’s a native New Yorker and that she worked for the Postal Service for many years. It was energizing to see her – and she just radiates this wisdom that’s motherly and comforting.

Tomorrow night is a fundraiser for this pretty neat project I’m hoping to get involved with. Basically, playwrights craft short plays based on the stories of older generations. It reminds me of the non-profit StoryCorps and definitely sounds like something I want to be a part of.

Check it out:

http://www.insearchofasongproductions.com/generations-theater-project

As I re-read through this post, I guess there is a theme to all of this – and an apology ahead of time for the sentimental, cheese factor but – we have to be grateful for our lives. And at the end of the day it’s all about the people we share our lives with and the stories we create together.

Leave a Reply

