how we get our grooves back

Before there was Sex and the City, there was Terry McMillan’s How Stella Got Her Groove Back. I haven’t read the book but I love this movie. Any movie that celebrates female friendship AND has Taye Diggs in it, is A+ cinema in my book.

I love movies and books that are about getting yourself happy and back to a good place. Super cheesy, I know. Personally, I sometimes get out of my funks with a routine like reading a copy of Oprah magazine, drinking a glass of wine and eating something delicious and filled with carbs.

Annnnnd…moving on, I’d like to share a quote I liked about writing. In this months issue of Oprah, there was an Terry McMillan interview where they asked her to share what helped her on her own personal journey to “happiness” after a difficult divorce.

One thing about writing she said really resonated:

“I began jumping up early in the morning to write so I could live inside my characters and not think about my own problems.” – Terry McMillan

I always wonder what’s so special about the morning that makes it the only time I can really effectively and productively write. I think maybe it is because my characters can live and breathe without too much of “me” and my day getting in. I like that McMillan put it so simply, but that’s exactly how I feel.

Leave a Reply

