A Body of Water

I just finished reading Lee Blessings’ play “A Body of Water.” I’ve been trying to read as much as I can of his work, mainly because I’ll be applying to the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers for my Playwriting MFA and he’s the head of the department.

Simply, it felt like a very sad, but very true play to me. The premise is pretty awesome. Basically, this couple wakes up at a weekend home and they have no idea who they are. So, the hour or so long play is them attempting to re-establish their bearings, physically, emotionally, and otherwise.

At the end of the play, the idea that stuck with me is that we all contend with new version of ourselves and our loved ones each morning. There’s something both beautiful and terribly scary about that. While the opportunity for constant renewal is liberating, what role does that play in love and a sense of home?

Anyhow. The melancholy I’ve found myself attaching to this play could also be influenced by being at home again for the holidays – and enjoying my time here, but realizing how incredibly short it is and different it was from when I was growing up.

But back to Lee Blessing. I was emailing him for information about the MFA program at Rutgers, and he’s been incredibly gracious in writing me back – thoughtful, detailed replies. It’s comforting in a way. Mainly because some of these programs seem so faceless.

Speaking of applications, I’m slowly but surely getting through them and that’s good.

And good news to cap off the year – I’ll be teaching screenwriting at SVA to pre-college students every Saturday this spring. Exciting stuff. Long awaited. Here’s to a good 2011.

 

Leave a Reply

