it takes time

Sometimes I beat myself up for not writing quickly enough, or not being as prolific as I’d like. I imagine a lot of writers feel this way, and it’s a very frustrating feeling to often be thinking you should be doing more. But, sometimes, the gestation of a play or screenplay takes awhile – longer than you might like.

So this quote from an article on David Auburn yesterday was calming –

“I would like to be quicker and more prolific, but the process is the process.”

Thank you.

 

 

3 thoughts on “it takes time

  1. Yeah, I do agree that a lot of it is discipline and buckling down. I think the key is making it a habit, so that it comes much more naturally.

Leave a Reply

