we used to wait

I’ve been listening to the Arcade Fire album, “The Suburbs” a lot lately and that one song in particular, “We Used to Wait.” For me, the song is a lot about youth and nostalgia, and a different sense of time moving when you’re younger.

There’s a line that keep grabbing me every time I listen to it. And please bear with me while I wax sentimental, but the line¬†reminds me of my writing and why I feel this absolute need to write.

Here’s a piece of the song lyrics:

“By the time we met the times had already changed

So I never wrote a letter
I never took my true heart I never wrote it down
So when the lights cut out
I was left standing in the wilderness downtown"
-Arcade Fire, "We Used To Wait"

I was listening to this song on my ipod the other morning, and feeling a nice post-coffee “everything is good in the world” high, the line “I never took my true heart, I never wrote it down” resonated deeply. There was an urgency I related to, this sense of needing to capture an experience, a feeling and somehow feeling a threat of losing or invalidating it, if I don’t capture it.

More and more, I find my writing is a sort of spiritual journey.

Anyway. Last night I saw a reading o Migdalia Cruz’s “Two Roberts” at the Lark. It was an interesting piece with stunning, lyrical language and kind of a balm for the ears. It was like music almost.

Leave a Reply

