For some reason, I’ve recently become sort of obsessed with reading interior design blogs and Dwell magazine. I find it very soothing and relaxing. In the latest issue of Dwell (featuring items that go into my “when I sell a big screenplay I will buy this” list), I was reading an article about the modern architect Thomas Phifer, and he said something that really resonated with me,

“The beginning of a project is like the start of a romance. There are so many ways. Your mind just begins to work. You’re almost a little bit disappointed when you’ve got to start narrowing it down and actually make something.”

-Thomas Phifer

I love it because I feel the same way about playwriting. When I have an idea, situation or an image to start a play with, I feel liberated and fresh, like my creative channels are clear. It sometimes takes awhile for me to actually start hard-core getting into writing it, and after reading this article, I understood more why I feel this way. It’s almost as if I give myself time to not only grow the idea, but enjoy just living with the infinite possibilities it poses.

It’s a liberty we’re not granted in life, we’re presented with a situation and almost immediately we must react to it. But there’s a glorious period of reflection in being a writer, one that allows you to take pause and live in the simple space of all the ways in which something can turn out.

Leave a Reply

