Theater is alive and well

When I was writing my graduate school personal statements, I thought a lot about this idea people throw around, that theater is dying and how its audience is slowly decreasing or at least not growing.

In fact, I wrote about it in my essays. I talked about how I wanted to be part of the “coming revolution in theater” and build the audience; make it less insular and myopic so it’s not only friends of the writer, director and actors coming to see the show.

But the more I think about it, the more it feels like it’s already happening. The theater revolution is not “coming,” it is already happening. I hear of more and more young playwrights whose work is getting produced, and more and more shows getting recognition.

So, reading this in an interview in Time Out New York this weekend with Tony Kushner, made me really happy/encouraged/etc. –

For all the usual talk about the decline of straight theater, I don’t remember a stronger year for plays in New York.

Plays without movie stars are struggling to stay afloat—but my God, the American playwriting community is producing a lot of incredibly exciting stuff. And what astonishing actors this city has! We’re suddenly in what feels like a kind of glory days of playwriting and production. If that’s not the message that people are getting from this season, it should be. We have to figure out a way to make that kind of work live on Broadway.

-Tony Kushner being interviewed by Adam Feldman

 

Leave a Reply

