some encouraging thoughts for the day

I’m trying to stay as positive as I can going forward – because I realized that I’m beginning to self-describe as “emo,” and that’s a problem! Not only because I’m not a teenage boy listening to Dashboard Confessional, but because emo is lame – there are so many beautiful things to look forward to and thankful for.

One of the most exciting things is my play Feedback is being performed at the end of July at the Drilling Company on the Upper West Side by Squeaky Bicycle Productions. I’ve never had a full length play produced, so I feel like I’m entering into new, exciting territory.

Right now I’m working on revising the play, which is mainly cutting it down from a hefty 103 pages. I’m trying not to think of anything as precious.

In honor of positive thinking and just general good advice, Oprah had some beautiful things to say on her final show.

“Each one of you has your own platform. Do not let the trappings here fool you. Mine is a stage in a studio, yours is wherever you are with your own reach, however small or however large that reach is.

Maybe it’s 20 people, maybe it’s 30 people, 40 people, your family, your friends, your neighbors, your classmates, your classroom, your co-workers. Wherever you are, that is your platform, your stage, your circle of influence. That is your talk show, and that is where your power lies.”

The Oprah Winfrey Season Finale 

Leave a Reply

