People keep asking me…

Why are you applying to graduate school? Can’t you just write on your own? Trust me, I have thought about it. A lot. But I know graduate school is the right choice for me. Because eventually, I would love to teach at the collegiate level in addition to writing and producing projects. And you need an MFA to teach.

So, fingers crossed that this time around, I’ll hear some good news.

Speaking of good news, my play Feedback is heading to the Lyric Theater in Los Angeles this April. I’m so excited because the team behind it all seems amazing. The director, Craig Jessen, is an incredibly smart and insightful guy, and the head of the theater seems pretty awesome herself.

And finally and tangentially, while I was away for Thanksgiving, I dug a bit more into Mary Oliver’s beautiful poetry. The way she seems to live her life is an inspiration to me. And on those days when I feel low and dispirited, she brings me back. So I’ll share some of her goodness here.

“Ten times a day something happens to me like this – some strengthening throb of amazement – some good sweet empathic ping and swell. This is the first, the wildest and the wisest thing I know: that the soul exists and is built entirely out of attentiveness.”
Mary Oliver
“The most regretful people on earth are those who felt the call to creative work, who felt their own creative power restive and uprising, and gave to it neither power nor time.”
Mary Oliver
I have to remind myself on a daily basis of this second quote, because I believe it in all my being.
I want to truly pursue this creative force in me, and I have an obligation to it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

