Writing Input/Output

For the first time in my life, I’ve been going pretty consistently to the gym. It’s been about  7 months and I only go about 1-2 times a week, but I feel a whole lot better. I feel a bit calmer overall. The thing is, I haven’t really seen any major difference muscle-wise. But I imagine I must have gained muscle mass in some way. So I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can collect data about my input/output. Perhaps a body fat breakdown would do the trick.

Thinking about all this body data got me thinking about my writing output. How do writers measure their input vs. output?

Do you measure your output in terms of pages or time spent writing?

For me, I measure by time spent writing. To me, pages are never really indicative of how I’m progressing as a writer. It’s more the time spent tinkering and thinking – even if it takes me 1 hour to write half a page, it counts more than 10 pages in a half hour.

More and more, I’ve been learning that for me, it’s really just about how much time I’ve invested in my writing. So I’ve been slowly trying to push myself to write more and more each week, trying to get to that elusive 10,000 hours to be an expert.

In other news, I’ve been getting seriously into finishing two screenplays that I’d put on the back burner. It took me awhile to get back into that way of writing, but I feel like I’ve gotten over the initial bump. I’m not allowing myself to write another play until I finish a solid draft of one of the screenplays. I’m chomping at the bit, but I’m going to wait…

I hope you are all enjoying your Summer. Make Pages! (Or…Spend Time Writing!)

Leave a Reply

