Write every day.

I just finished reading Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project” which is essentially a non-fiction account of the author attempting to bring more happiness and joy into her life by focusing on different goals every month for a year. I loved the book, and I am excited for her next book, “Happier at Home,” which is all about how to maximize happiness in your home space.

I subscribed to her daily email list and today she sent out a particularly resonant quote. I’d love to share that here.

“If you do the same thing every day at the same time for the same length of time, you’ll save yourself from many a sink. Routine is a condition of survival.”

–Flannery O’Connor, The Habit of Being, letter to “A,” February 10, 1962

This was in reference to O’Connor’s writing habits. I love this because I try to do the same thing in my own life. She wrote 3 hours every day and unfortunately, I can’t say the same. But I do wake up every morning and try to write for as long as I can before it’s time to start my workday.

Leave a Reply

