heading to Los Angeles

In three months I’m moving to Los Angeles to get my MFA in screenwriting at UCLA. I’m really excited about the school/meeting new people part, but nervous about living in a city that lots of New Yorkers love to hate. I was born here in New York, right on 71st and York, and I’ve never left. Well, I had a brief leave for college in Baltimore. But that was so close to NY that I often came home to see my parents or friends.

I don’t know if I will like Los Angeles. I know I will miss my metrocard swiping, pizza on every block, walking, crowded subways loudly roaring into stations, and Hungry Ghost coffee shop in Brooklyn. I just don’t know how much I will miss these things. If it will be a aching kind of missing, or a warm nostalgic missing.

All I do know is that I have to leave. I need to comparison shop. Before I settle down somewhere, I want to see what else is out there.

Leave a Reply

