in one week and a half, I’ll be in California

I can’t believe that my move to California is less than 1.5 weeks away. And that it’s taken me so long to post here.  I was avoiding writing primarily because I was worried about my boss or co-workers finding out I was leaving before I was ready to say anything. Because what started as a four month temporary copywriting role turned into a position with serious potential for full-time. And this role also turned into a job I really, really like at an organization whose mission feels compelling and deeply personal somehow. It’s funny how things work like that – finding a job that feels so damn good right as I’m leaving.

But I’m excited to embark on graduate school. I’m excited to be with writers who want this as much as I do. With people who understand what it feels like to live with this goal of being a “working screenwriter” day in and day out, despite being pounded with news that it’s harder than ever, and oh my god, are you delusional? It’s harder to win the lotto than sell a script.

But to them I say, whatever. I’m with those guys over there, yeah, those guys in the corner of Starbucks trying to bang out the last few pages of their script before the deadline for that screenwriting contest they always dream of winning. Those people are my people and I want to be with my people.

I’m trying to have no expectations about what my life will be, the everyday stuff, but of course, it’s so hard to have no expectations! Near impossible. So if you must know, I keep imagining a parallel universe whose main stars are avocados, the UCLA bookstore, my laptop opened to Final Draft 8, the interior of whatever used gem of a car I purchase, hanging out with my very wonderful new writer friends, and swimming.

I shall report back and tell you how reality matches up. Now it’s time to get back to prepping for this move. I leave you with this, a quote from one of my favorite writers ever.

“You see, in my view a writer is a writer not because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, because everything she does is golden. In my view a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.”
Junot Díaz

Leave a Reply

